Guest House Reviews 2012 - Great Britain

A very pleasant stay. Nice to watch the wildlife whilst eating the good breakfast .
Only a 7 - 10 minute walk to centre of town.
Bob Maslen who stayed December 2012

“Great mini break The perfect B & B”
We stayed for two nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay .Every where was so clean warm and comfortable.
Plenty of choice for breakfast . Would put this B&B.top of places to stay, able to park car on site .
Only a short ten minute stroll into Stratford upon Avon town centre.
Reviewed by dave186346 York, 30 November 2012 Trip Advisor

“Delightful B & B”
We had read some excellent reviews on 'Trip Advisor' and we can only re-iterate the positive comments.
We stayed in Room 7 which is long and narrow but large, the bathroom was a good size and the shower area
was not only big it contained a terrific powerful shower. It is the best shower we have experienced and we have
stayed in 5* hotels. The double bed was very comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean and warm as was the
rest of the building. The breakfast room overlooks the garden and unlike some B&Bs you did not feel you are sitting
on top of other guests. The quality of the breakfast was good as was the service. What was different was the fact that
you had to choose what you wanted to eat the night before by leaving an order form and also stating the time when you
would be eating but this was certainly not an issue and it added to the efficiency of the service. Breakfast was a very
pleasant and relaxing experience.
The B&B is only some 7-8 minutes walk from the town centre - The quickest way is through the car park of
the 'Tramway' pub which is about a 100 yards from the B&B, up the steps at the end, turn right along a path and
proceed past the Butterfly Farm, although it should be noted that this pathway is not lit at night so when it is dark
it is advisable to stay on the main Shipston Road.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the ‘Avonpark’ and certainly intend to return again.
Reviewed by Jean and Nigel Lingfield, Surrey 26 November 2012

“Lovely little B and B.”
Stayed here for two nights over the weekend. Seemed a very popular place to stay. We had a lovely room on the
ground floor near the dinning area. Had a fab nights sleep, was walking distance from the main town and near a fab pub.
Can highly reccomend sorrentos to eat at with the fab lobster!
Really clean B and B and will return very soon!
Reviewed by FrenchFancy033 Southampton 19 November 2012 Trip Advisor

Avonpark House is highly recommended. The owners are very helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean
and the breakfast was excellent. Booked again for May
- Michaela and Wayne Holland who stayed November 2012

Warm welcome, friendly atmosphere, excellent facilities. Great information pack. Lovely room with view over the
garden. Good breakfast choice, freshly cooked. I will definitely return should I need accommodation in the area.
- Rosemary T. who stayed in November 2012

The best B&B we have stayed in. Thank you for a friendly and excellent service
- Michelle Matthams who stayed in November 2012

Really lovely stay. Perfect place for everything. Felt very welcome. Will definitely be returning
- Julie Romano who stayed in November 2012

All 1st Class. To be recommended
- Maureen Jones who stayed in November 2012

Really Good
Excellent B&B. Nothing to moan about at all
- Mary Strode who stayed in November 2012

“Brilliant 2 nights Diane D”
Great location, perfect hosts and superb room. We stayed in room 4 which was fantastic with a lovely view over
the garden. The room was large and very com fortable, The food was excellent with a wide choice for breakfast
and tea,coffee and biscuits were replaced daily. It was only a short walk into stratford and all the sights. Will definately
recommend to our friends and will be back.
Reviewed 25 October 2012 Diane D, Midlands, Trip Advisor

“No Complaints!!!”
Excellent accomodation, just a short stroll from Stratford centre. Breakfast was lovely, whatever choice was made.
Bill & Cita were great hosts & nothing was any trouble. Good facilities in room, fresh water, tea, coffee, etc each day.
Will definitely be staying again & have no problems recommending to anyone. Thank you both.
Reviewed 23 October 2012 Jastoat Hampshire , Trip Advisor

"Brilliant”
Fantastic service, accomodation superb, breakfast excellent, hospitality brilliant. Warm and welcoming,
well looked after, couldnt ask for more. Located within 10 minute walk of Stratford itself, the theatre, shops,
restaurants and coffee shops. Free car parking. Stayed for 5 nights and will definitely use again. Highly recommended.
Ensuite shower was more than welcomed, as was the hospitality tray. Stayed in Room 4 which was huge, with
doors onto the verandah where you could see the Koi pond. All in all brilliant.
Reviewed 13 October 2012 Brian S Camelford, Trip Advisor

"Friendly & welcoming”
Great location, easy walk (about 400m) from town centre. Accommodation clean and reasonable in size.
Breakfast ample with good choice of menu. Car parking off road at the front of the House,is free unlike many similar
places. If you're visiting Stratford this is the place to stay.
Reviewed 8 October 2012 JohnWhiteman of Thornton-Cleveleys, Trip Advisor

"Excellent room, breakfast, staff, location and price”
We stayed at Avonpark House for 2 nights. We were greeted by Bill on arrival and he was great. They were very
organised in providing discount vouchers for local attractions and restaurants. We stayed in room 3 which was on the
first level at the front of the house where there was very little traffic noise. The room was spacious, very clean, tidy and
modern and the bed was huge! The shower was excellent. Tea, coffee, biscuits and botted water were provided daily.
Breakfasts were to die for! I would really recommend the kippers, so much so I had to have them both mornings!
The breakfast room had views of the garden which was very nice and the squirrels were quite amusing! Only 5 to 10
minutes walk into town. You can either walk the road way (which we did at night as it was lit) or you can go along the
path which used to be the old tramway.
Reviewed 4 October 2012 Vincent W of Portsmouth, Trip Advisor

“Avonpark house”
one of the best we have stayed at.........very clean and tidy. food was excellent and room was brilliant. would
recommend to anyone......we will be back !! ( dont know how they do it at these prices) great area.....only 5 mins
from the town centre..also Avonpark house is set back from the road so very little road noise.....
Reviewed 3 October 2012 neilg510 Nottingham Trip Advisor

Great location, friendly staff.
The guest house is clean, well situated with a pleasant air. The proprietor Bill couldn't have been more helpful. I was
with senior school pupils who were all well catered for. My room was large, with tea, coffee, a well-proportioned
bathroom (great shower) and opened onto the garden - which would be lovely in the summer. You can walk into town
in ten minutes, and we took a lovely walk through fields to the church.
The breakfast is varied and well cooked. Yummy kippers, salmon and full English! I would stay here again!
Stayed September 2012 by Roz D of Glasgow Trip Advisor

Good value and well appointed. Pleasant hosts - Mr. & Mrs. Allman who stayed Oct 2012

“I'll be going back!”
We only stayed one night at the Avonpark House but we'll definitely go back when we visit the area again later this year.
I chose it in a rush, after booking some tickets at the RSC, and was attracted to its location (a short walk from the theatre)
plus the free wi-fi and its clearly stated policy that this is not a place which welcomes wild hen or stag parties! The room
was lovely -much better than I expected - the photos on the website don't do it justice. Bill apologised that it was not his
usual family room (we had booked late) so our son had to sleep in a put-up bed -Bill discussed this with us on the phone
when I booked and was very upfront about what he could provide - but we were happy with the slight discount in price
for that! The place was SPOTLESS - so important to us - and quite recently redecorated so we didn't feel that we were
staying in a place that was tired. We also enjoyed the wonderful en-suite bathroom with one of those monsoon showers!
The bed was a little harder than I generally prefer, but the room was deliciously quiet. I felt terrible at breakfast as I was
too full from a big meal the night before to manage what I had ordered, but my husband and son made short work of the
bacon and eggs! Bill's style throughout was low-key and respectful of our privacy but happy to chat about what we could
do in the area. Highly recommended.
- reviewed by dinahjo, Trip advisor 11th August 2012

Superb stay for Stratford and Shakespeare
Myself and a friend needed a room for the night as we were watching a play directed by her brother at the RST.
The B&B was faultless. We arrived earlier than expected and our room was ready for us. They were so helpful, organised and professional. Our breakfast was ready when requested and was faultless. Cannot recommend this more. Well worth a stay
if you are looking for somewhere in Stratford with easy access to the town. - Teresa Sedge Late Rooms 7th August 2012

A 5 star Guest House without a doubt. We have been coming to Stratford for many years and this is the best we have
had the pleasure to stay in. Thank you Cita for my poached eggs - perfect.
- Denise Goulty who stayed in June 2012.

Everything you want in a B&B. Could not fault a thing. Stayed in a few places in Stratford. This is simply the best.
- Joy Kidd who stayed in June 2012.

Very pleasant relaxed stay - worth repeating the experience
- Gary Stephenson who stayed in May 2012

Very easy access to all attractions, clean and friendly
- Rob and Kaz darling who stayed in may 2012

Beautiful room, clean and with everything we needed. Excellent breakfast and would certainly come again. Thank you.
- Sue and Catherine who stayed in May 2012

Friendly staff, lovely food, very clean. I would most certainly come again
- Reviewed by Leigh Knowles who stayed in May 2012

Very comfortable acommodation.
Our ground floor room overlooking the garden was spotlessly clean and very quiet. It was well furnished with a
comfortable bed and ideal for a short break.
- Reviewed by Paul G Who stayed in April 2012

A weekend stay for Shakespeare's birthday
We thought at first that the house was rather a long walk from the town centre, but having been greeted with a map
and details of the 'short cut' we found that a short and very pleasant walk led us straight to the canal basin and theatre
area. Our room was bright, clean and newly decorated, as is the whole house, and the breakfast was cooked individually
to order and was hot, fresh and delicious. There is off-road parking in front of the house but there are also bus stops
nearby, and the area is quiet and pleasant.
- Reviewed by Isabel C From London Who stayed in April 2012 Late Rooms

A lovely stay - great food - warm welcome. Everything very clean and comfortable. Thanks
- M. G. Bevan April 2012

Lovely owners, comfy rooms. Would def stay again. Thanks for the special request at breakfast, very yummy.
- Lydia Thomas April 2012

Just Perfect
We were warmly welcomed by Bill despite being two hours early and on Easter Sunday. He really enjoys his "job"
and it shows. He is a wealth of information. The room was perfect for our one-night stay in Stratford upon Avon.
The shower was excellent which is usually where things start to decline. We would definitely stay there again and
recommend it highly.
- Late Rooms 24th April 2012

"This is excellently located for everything you need. I loved my room and it was light and spacious. The service is
discreet but helpful when you want it. Good value for money."
- Single lady visitor Easter 2012.

"Very welcoming, very clean, a good stay. Close to all amenities in Stratford."
- Tony Bardsley Easter 2012

"Difficult to fault. Lovely place to stay. Thank you "
- Andrew Gunstone Easter 2012

Wonderful Weekend” Reviewed 27 March 2012 - Trip Advisor
This is the first time ever we have stayed in a Guest House and did not quite know what to expect especially as it
was booked at such short notice.. However we need not have worried as the whole experience was great. Bill the
owner made us feel at home straight away and explained all we needed to know with regard to breakfast, trips,
restaurants etc.
Cita the co-owner is really charming and seemed to delight in talking about the wildlife in the garden.
Bill was totally unphased when my husband nearly knocked his huge vase off the windowsill on the landing!
All in all we would recommend this accommodation.

Very welcoming. Would come again. Very handy for walks and pub - Jazbo

We cant fault it. A very enjoyable stay. The hospitality is excellent. So glad we chose to come here - Roger Watson

“Excellent service and a great location” Reviewed 18 March 2012 - Trip Advisor
We would very much recommend Avonpark to anyone planning a short break in Stratford. We arrived early but
were able to check in and park the car for free. We were greeted by Bill, the owner, who was very helpful and
friendly. Our room (No 2) was a great size (huge bed!) and very well appointed with a lovely bathroom (including
a good shower). Everything was immaculately clean and there were generous tea and coffee facilities available.
The cooked breakfasts were very tasty and as a vegetarian I was well catered for. The hotel is a short and pleasant
walk into Stratford centre along the old tramway and footbridge across the river. One excellent benefit of staying in
the hotel was the access to numerous discounts to local Stratford attractions and restaurants. Taking advantage of
these discounts, along with the special weekend offer price for our stay, meant Avonpark offered great value for
money. It also serves as a good base for travelling to places further afield such as Kenilworth or Warwick. We will
definitely stay in Avonpark again for future visits to the area. Thanks Bill and Cita!

A lovely stay in a very good standard establishment. A relaxed atmosphere and would definitely recommend.
Many thanks - Peter Daly

We very much enjoyed our stay with you and would thoroughly recommend staying at Avonpark. Bill and Cita
made us feel very welcome. - Jayne Spurdle

We loved opening our curtains and seeing the squirrels running along our balcony !
- Kathyrn Neal

“Great location” Reviewed 18 March 2012 - Trip Advisor
Over the years my husband and I have been to Stratford many times but never stayed on the south side of the river
and I know we were missing out! The old tramway walk into town was lovely and peaceful and in no time at all
you're in the town - we'll certainly be staying again. Lovely hosts, nice comfortable room with a lovely view over
the garden and we enjoyed our breakfast with entertainment provided by a squirrel (obviously the squirrel was outside!)

“A lovely stay in beautiful Stratford” Reviewed 9 March 2012 - Trip Advisor
Thank you so much for your hospitality. The guesthouse is lovely throughout. The bedroom (no 1) was a good size,
very clean and crisp and the bathroom was a good size also. The owners were very helpful and polite and we felt
very welcome.
Would definately recommend! The location is great, with just a ten minute walk to the main sightseeing attractions.
Thank you :)

Warm welcome, spacious, clean room. "Great Breakfast". Will definitely return - Kelly Bridge

“Lovely Hotel” Reviewed 18 January 2012 - Trip Advisor
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Every consideration is given to guest's comfort and we received a lovely
warm welcome. Only a short distance from town centre so really convenient. Breakfast was superb, Excellent value!!!!!!!!!

Very pleasant stay - thank you - We will recommend you to friends and will certainly come
back ! - Tish Marchant

Avonpark House was exceptional. The rooms were immaculate and beautiful and the customer service was excellent.
I cant wait to visit again. - R. Patel

Most enjoyable few days. Would recommend to friends - L. Banks

"great location” Reviewed 12 January 2012 - Trip Advisor
We extended a stay in the Cotswolds at Avonpark to see Stratford and weren't disappointed by the town or this
accomodation. The owners were friendly and allowed us to park our car despite arriving very early. Our room was
immaculate in maintenance and cleanliness. Breakfast was delicious and not greasy. The walk into Stratford is short,
less than 10 mins and scenic alongside the river. We would recommend this accomodation

"Excellent and affordable” Reviewed 1 January 2012 - Trip Advisor
This B&B is great - affordable, close to the centre, friendly owners, quiet and comfortable room, hot shower, clean,
great breakfast (which is efficient and delicious). Definitely recommended!