Guest House Reviews 2009 - Great Britain

Worth every penny
Would recommend everything about the stay from the fantastic welcome right thru to the breakfast
Reviewed by Andrew Meggitt From Coventry, England Who stayed in December 2009

Boxing Day
I stayed at this hotel for one night on boxing day and the service that i received was exceptional! They were all so friendly and the food was excellent!
Reviewed by E Bowyer From Wellingborough, England Who stayed in December 2009

Service and overall comments
The service we received at the Avonpark Hotel was excellent ,the standard was high and the food was excellent .I had booked 2 rooms and they wre great
Reviewed by Anne C From England Who stayed in December 2009

The best bed and breakfast i have ever stayed in.
Friendly owners, Warm comfortable room. Excellently decorated. Just an exceptionally "homely" place to stay, and wish i could have stayed longer! Throughly enjoyed my time there.
Reviewed by M Phillips From England Who stayed in December 2009

Better than Expected!
We were very impressed with Avon Park Guesthouse. The owner went out of his way and stayed up to allow us to check in at a later time. Room was very clean and comfortable and above what was expected for the price. Breakfast was also more than sufficient. Would recommend staying here.
Reviewed by Luke B From Newbury, England Who stayed in December 2009

Convenient lovely clean accomodation
We would recommend Avon Park house as a convenient place to stay when visiting Stratford. We stayed 26th & 27th Nov and visited NEC Birmingham for the Good Food Show whilst staying here. It was only 40mins to NEC. Very clean accomodation, lovely breakfast and friendly owners.
Reviewed by caroline m From Ipswich, England Who stayed in November 2009

We could not fault this guest house. The room was confortable ,clean and well decorated. I would give it a 5 star rating. We only stayed one night but we would return in the future and would recommend it to family and friends It was only a 10 min walk to the town and only a 2 min walk to the nearest pub which was very handy.
Reviewed by Susan Walker from Preston, England Who stayed in November 2009

A very pleasant experience
We arrived after 4 hours on the road. The patron was very friendly, our room was on the ground floor and very adequate with a compact ensuite shower room. We felt very welcomed and valued unlike our previous accomodation. Ther is a very good pub within 100 yards that offers a very good menu and at reasonable prices-ideal if you don`t want to go too far. The breakfast was very good in both quality and quantity. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Reviewed by Michael Lewis From Hayling Island, England Who stayed in November 2009

quality hotel
very friendy hotel, very clean, excellent meals and a good choice for us. Proprietor was very helpfull with local inforation Reviewed by peter johnston From Conwy, Wales Who stayed in November 2009

We would recommend Avonpark House to anyone looking for a place to stay in the UK. We are also thinking of coming back next winter.

Ben and samantha Geraghty 22 November 2009

Excellent, friendly, good position.

Mr & Mrs Bennet 16 November 2009

Rooms very clean and breakfast brilliant.

Mr & Mrs Horbury 13 November 2009

 

Welcome cheery ! Room very clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent and choices perfect. Ideal situation for good walks into town and country. Thank you both. Will come again if in Stratford and recommend your service to others.

Denise and David Roberts 23 October 2009

What a lovely place to stay. Great breakfast. No faults. Well done !

Mr & Mrs Nurse Leicester 18 October 2009

My wife and I had a lovely stay. Excellent location. Mr & Mrs Garfield couldn't be more helpful.

Mr & Mrs Wentworth 14 October 2009

Fab, I'll be back.

Mr Thorman October 2009

Definitely will be recommending this place. Hospitality tray excellent and being offered fresh milk a nice detail. We will be coming back again as the beds were so comfortable. The walk into town was delightful, a chance to see Swans on the river.

Beverley Smith October 2009

Excellent Guest House, great location, will be recommending this accommodation to my friends and we will be returning soon. Many thanks for making us welcome.

Sue and Frank October 2009

Fabulous !! Thank you for a lovely stay in S-upon-A. We may well be back !

David and Lynn Petty October 2009

We'll come again - clean, quiet and an easy walk into the centre

Roger Day October 2009

Very welcoming & friendly, very nice Guest House. Thank you for our stay. Should be awarded 5 star.

Margaret Richards September 2009

We loved it.

Roger and Sarah Bray September 2009

Everything excellent, thank you. The bed was particularly comfortable. First time we've slept all through the night in a guest House.

Phil September 2009

Very well located, would be happy to come back and stay again. Also, the local map we were given on arrival was very helpful.

Mr MacKintyre September 2009

Value for Money!
Extremely clean, comfortable, near to all activities. Friendly staff, welcoming, good decor. Could not fault it at all and would definitely return.

Reviewed by Robin Bullard From Ipswich, England Who stayed in September 2009 (Late Rooms)

Les & Joan's lovely stay at avonpark house
Everything was 1st class. Excellent value for momey. Bill&Cita could not have improved on anything at all. I will be telling all our friends about it. We needed a relaxing break and we certainly got one, and in such comfort.

Reviewed by L Wilkins From Wirral, England Who stayed in September 2009 (Late Rooms)

Excellent
Very pleased with choice of AvonPark Guest house. Owners both very friendly and approachable. Breakfast lovely and held from 7.30am to 9.30am so plenty of options available. menu choice for each day of stay which is a good idea. Nice view of back garden from room 2. Clean, light and airy interior, generous en-suite shower room. Quiet location despite being on quite busy road. Lovely shortcut via The Tramway pub car park along a leafy footpath into Stratford town centre (and handy for a nightcap on the way back!). Definitely worth a return visit.

Reviewed by S Armstead From Mirfield, England Who stayed in August 2009

We had a wonderful stay. The rooms were lovely, the family more than helpful & friendly and the location perfect. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Mr & Mrs Bradley

Warm welcome. Very clean. On par with most 5 star hotels. Would definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

Mr & Mrs Hall August 2009

weekend break
We had a lovely weekend break, especially helped by the brilliant weather. The room was very clean, only 5 mins walk along the riverbank and we were in the centre of town. Our room was facing the main road but with the windows shut we could'nt hear anything. The landlady made me another breakfast after i poured a whole bottle of brown sauce over the first one, atleast it made people laugth in the dining room :-) i would certaintly stay here again.

Reviewed by D CLARK From England Who stayed in August 2009 (Late Rooms)

Just what you need from a B&B
Easy to find and convenient parking right on the front. A very warm welcome, and a clean and modern bedroom and bathroom, even with internet access if you're a business traveller. A 5 minute stroll to the town centre. Breakfast was good too, with a choice to pre-order if you wish to do so. All in all, just what you want really.

Reviewed by P Smith From Newcastle, England Who stayed in July 2009 (Late Rooms)

Great place to stay
We were able to leave our car at midday and pickup our key. The room was very clean and we had a lovely view of the garden. The walk in to Stratford along the old tramway is quick and easy. Certainly a place we will be happy to stay at again.

Reviewed by Caroline Elsey From Leigh-on-sea, England Who stayed in July 2009 (Late Rooms)

Thank you both for a very enjoyable weekend. The facilities were superb. We will definitely be booking with you both again.

Mr & Mrs Shingler July 2009

Recommended to us & didn't disappoint. Impressed by the cleanliness of the room & enjoyed overlooking the peaceful garden - even saw a rabbit crossing the lawn.

John & Janette B. July 2009

Everything you should expect from a professional B&B. Excellent.

Ruth Starbrook July 2009

No need to look any further - book this now
Avonpark House is great for a theatre visit as it is located only a short stroll from the RSC. It is easy to find and has ample off-road car parking space at the front, so parking is not a problem. Our ground floor room was spotless and modern and everything was in working order. The owners, Bill and Cita Garfield, strike a good balance between being friendly and leaving you to get on with your own thing. Checkin/checkout quick and fuss-free. Cita cooks a mean (vegetarian) breakfast too!

Reviewed by Elaine R From England Who stayed in July 2009 (Late Rooms)

This was an extremely lovely place to stay, right on the doorstep of everything you could want, staff were really friendly. We had an issue where the kettle tripped the electrics at half 11 at night and they fixed it straight away and gave us a new kettle.
They do good deals if you are going to the RSC, and if you rebook.

Reviewed by j keane From Weymouth, England Who stayed in June 2009 (Late Rooms)

Will def use again
We only stayed for 1 night but were very impressed with this family run business.
the room was a good size and immaculate, we were given a friendly welcome and although we did not have breakfast but i'm sure it would have been very good if we had.
Many thanks

Reviewed by Jaime H From DAVENTRY, EnglandWho stayed in June 2009 (Late Rooms)

Great value for money
Avonpark House provided clean, comfortable accommodation. The owners were friendly but unobtrusive. Breakfast was nice. Superb location - just a short stroll from all that Stratford upon Avon has to offer. The Old Tramway pub just along the road served a lovely evening meal.
Would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Stratford.

Reviewed by Audrey G From Peterborough, England Who stayed in June 2009 (Late Rooms)

The accomodation was lovely and clean and well worth staying in such a welcoming enviroment

Reviewed by J C From Holywell, England Who stayed in June 2009 (Late Rooms)

Avonpark House
We have recently stayed at Avonpark House for one night. Having found the guesthouse we were greeted with a smile, shown to our room and left to enjoy our stay. The house is spotlessly clean with well equipped rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast was freshly cooked with plenty of it.
Would recommend the guest house to anyone.

Reviewed by D Lowe From Rochdale, England Who stayed in May 2009 (Late Rooms)

Outstanding.
We could not find any faults whatsoever with regard to this very welcoming guest house; this was our fourth stay in Stratford and wish we had discovered this guest house on our very first visit. We will be going back and sharing the experience with our family. Outstanding is the only word to describe this guest house.

Reviewed by Lee Costidell From Gillingham, England Who stayed in May 2009 (Late Rooms)

bank holiday visit
my wife and I spent two excellent nights at the avonpark. it is spotlessly clean and our room was first class. breakfast very good served by friendly staff and overall value for money undoubtedly.

Reviewed by stewart wilson From Bury, England Who stayed in May 2009 (Late Rooms)

Avonpark guest house
We received an extremely warm welcome despite turning up early. The rooms were spotless, well equipped ,quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and served in a lovely dining room overlooking the garden. I will definitely return to the Avonpark.

Reviewed by Penny C From England Who stayed in April 2009 (Late Rooms)

Spent two nights at Avonpark B&B and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The acomodation was very comfortable and really well maintained, breakfast on both days was filling and delicious. The location was ideal and it was a short walk ito the town centre, there is a pub a couple of minutes away where we had a delicious evening meal. would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by Julia Liptrot From Wigan, England Who stayed in April 2009

Just what we needed. Quiet position on the edge of town. Very comfortable room with all bit & pieces you could want. Incredibly clean. Lovely view over garden. Charming owners.

Reviewed by Sarah K From England Who stayed in April 2009 (Late Rooms)

We had a really nice stay at Avonpark House, your breakfast was outstanding. Thank you and we will be back

April 2009

Excellent. We would certainly come back.

Susan Ellerby April 2009

Quiet friendly family run hotel - room was very comfortable. short walk to town and local amenities.

Reviewed by michael p From Banstead, England Who stayed in March 2009 (Late Rooms)

Highly recommended
Simply the best I've stayed at. Very clean, friendly, well equipped, food was great, service was great. Loved it.

Reviewed by Kevin E From Bristol, England Who stayed in March 2009 (Late Rooms)

Thank you Cita!
My girlfriend and I stayed for one night only, but could've easily stayed longer. The place is nice and quiet, with a large green backyard where you can enjoy a hot drink and watch birds pecking about the lawn and bushes. It's an easy 10 min (or less) walk into town across two handsome stone bridges. The owners are welcoming and warm. I'd certainly stay again.

Reviewed by J Peralta Who stayed in March 2009 (Late Rooms)

The Bed and Breakfast was wonderful! The room was beautiful. The hotel is next to downtown. There's a beautiful walk along the waterfront. The breakfast was excellent! If you are looking for a nice, romantic place to stay - book this accomodation. It's wonderful!

Reviewed by Kristy B, from Shoreham-by-sea Who stayed in January 2009 (Late Rooms)

Great value for money, I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again. Very professional service given. The rooms are ample in size, clean and better than most Budget hotel groups. The cooked breakfast is of a very good standard. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by J Warke, From Ballymoney who stayed in January 2009 (Late Rooms)

Thank you ever so much for a lovely stay. We rae so glad we found you and will be revisiting you in the future.

Shaun and Harriet Nash, who stayed in February 2009

Unfortunately this was a short stay as it was busines trip - but I couldn't fault the accomodation/ food /friendiness of owner- fabulous!
I would like to return for longer stay - combine with a theatre trip.

Reviewed by E Bates from Manchester who stayed in February 2009 (Late Rooms)

very cosy rooms, short scenic walk to the town centre very friendly owner, would reccomend for the price and would return if ever visited the area again.

Reviewed by A Hanson from Derby who stayed in February 2009 (Late Rooms)

Clean, bright guesthouse. Great value. Perfect for visiting the RSC.

Peter carr who stayed in March 2009

We had such a great time here ! Thanks so much for everything. I'd recommend to anyone. Shaun Corkhill who stayed in March 2009.

Modern, clean, friendly and well equipped. Best I've been in so far.

Kevin Earland who stayed in March 2009.

The cleanliness, comfort and little extras provided show that you care about your Guests. Many thanks.

John and Rosemary Smith from Eastbourne, who stayed in March 2009.

Service, breakfast and accomodation all excellent. Can walk into town on old tramway footpath

Brian Campbell who stayed in March 2009 (Late Rooms)

Great place. Very comfy bed. Big and yummy breakfast. Lovely attention to detail.

I Hughes who stayed in March 2009 (Late Rooms)

We were very impressed by the standard of cleanliness and presentation. The choice for breakfast was excellent and portions were good. Although only there for 4 nights, our bedlinen was changed half way through - lovely ! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. It was great not having to use the car when we wanted to explore Stratford itself.

Ann Tywman from Essex, who stayed in March 2009. (Booking.com)

Excellent all round.

Mr & Mrs Gray who stayed in March 2009

Very clean and lovely place to stay. We will be back.

Mr & Mrs Fairbrother who stayed in April 2009.